Symphony Orchestra Spring Concerts 2022

NYOS Symphony Orchestra returns to the concert stage to showcase the incredible talents of Scotland’s most promising young musicians, and we are delighted to renew our long-standing partnership with the Royal Scottish National Orchestra, featuring once again as part of the RSNO season in spring.

NYOS is also thrilled to be joined by BBC Young Musician 2016 finalist, Jess Gillam (image ©Robin Clewley), in John Harle’s vibrant and dynamic concerto for soprano saxophone, Briggflatts, an epic tapestry of orchestral colour based on Basil Bunting’s eponymous poem. The concerto is programmed alongside a selection of richly orchestrated 20th-century masterpieces, including Respighi’s exquisitely atmospheric, and career-defining, Fountains of Rome. The concert is conducted by Kerem Hasan, winner of the prestigious Salzburg Festival Young Conductors Award.  

We have introduced digital programmes for all our concerts this spring. Please use this link NYOS Symphony Orchestra Concert (Edinburgh) – Friday 15 April 2022 or this link NYOS Symphony Orchestra Concert (Glasgow) – Saturday 16 April 2022 and sign up to automatically receive your programme, via email, before the concert.


Fountains of Rome 

John Harle

Briggflatts (for soprano saxophone and orchestra)


Symphony No.10 in E minor, Op.93


Kerem Hasan


Jess Gillam


15 April 2022 / 19:30 at Usher Hall, Edinburgh


Full Price: £20-£23.50

Unwaged, Under 26, Mature Students: £6

16 April 2022 / 19:30 at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall


Full Price: £20

Unwaged, Under 26, Mature Students: £6


View all performances