NYOS Junior Orchestra Spring Concert

This spring, under the baton of conductor Holly Mathieson, NYOS Junior Orchestra presents a broad spectrum of music from North and South American composers – with music rarely heard in the UK or European concert halls – together with works by more prominent European composers inspired to celebrate the remarkable diversity of the Americas.

"There has been such a wealth of orchestral repertoire to come out of the American continents: the incredible adaptations of dance music from South America, works that draw upon the cool influence of the US jazz movement, and the lush romanticism of Hollywood's film scores. The Americas have also been home to some of the world's greatest and most prolific women composers of the last two centuries, and some of the world's major exponents of minimalism, who wrote works that evoke urban cityscapes and rhythmic machines. I'm pleased that we've found a little bit of everything for our players, to whet their appetites for more exploration!” Holly Mathieson, Conductor



JEAN COULTHARD: Canada Mosaic – To the best of our knowledge this is the first performance of this piece in the UK

GEORGE GERSHWIN: Promenade (Walking the Dog)

LEROY ANDERSON: The Waltzing Cat

AMY BEACH: Symphony No. 2 in E minor Gaelic (first movement) Scottish Premiere

ARTURO MÁRQUEZ: Danzón No. 2 Click to hear a performance by Gustavo Dudamel and the Orquesta Sinfónica Simón Bolívar


Holly Mathieson


4 April 2017 / 18:00 at Stevenson Hall, Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Glasgow

Full Price: £13 | Over 60 £7 | Unwaged £7 | Under 16 £4 | Student £4  – all + £1 booking Fee

Tickets limited to three per transaction

Box Office: 0141 332 5057 or visit www.rcs.ac.uk

View all performances