Senior Orchestra Spring Concert 2022

Conducted by the inspirational Alice Franham, NYOS Senior Orchestra adopts a new form in 2022, reimagined as a chamber-sized orchestra. This will introduce our musicians to a new orchestral setting, with more opportunities for solo playing, and a more intimate, conversational style of musicmaking. It will also allow players more contact time with tutors, soloist, and conductors to hone their skills.

The brilliant young trumpet player Aaron Akugbo joins the orchestra as soloist in Haydn’s Trumpet Concerto, with its lighter late-eighteenth-century orchestration, we will be working on achieving a balance between soloist and orchestra, while ensuring even the ‘accompaniment’ sections are full of character.

We have introduced digital programmes for all our concerts this spring. Please use this link NYOS Senior Orchestra Concert – Sunday 10 April 2022 and sign up to automatically receive your programme, via email, before the concert.

Eleanor Alberga

Overture: ‘Jupiter’s Fairground’


Overture: The Hebrides, Op.26 (Fingal’s Cave)


Trumpet Concerto


Symphony No.8 in F major, Op.93


Alice Farnham


Aaron Akugbo


10 April 2022 / 19:00 at New Auditorium, Glasgow Royal Concert Hall


Full Price: £16

Unwaged, Under 26, Mature Students: £6

Boox Office


T: 0141 353 8000

Public Transport Options

View all performances