NYOS Senior Orchestra Summer Concert

The Senior Orchestra will also perform Petrovich Mussorgsky's, A Night on the Bare Mountain (arr. Rimsky-Korsakov), part of the BBC’s exciting 'Ten Pieces' initiative designed to open up the world of classical music to school children.

Along with repertoire selected for the Scottish Connections theme the Senior Orchestra continues to mark the 150th anniversary of Jean Sibelius, regarded as one of the greatest symphonists of the twentieth century.  First performed with immense power and precision by NYOS Senior Orchestra back in April at Perth Concert Hall, the orchestra will once again give rise to his turbulent First Symphony, a work that already speaks with a unique voice and seems to take the orchestra to another world.

The summer programme also features music by another composer with Scottish connections - Eugene d'Albert, the Glasgow-born piano virtuoso and composer.


Eugen d’Albert – Overture to Grillparzer’s ‘Esther’, Op. 8

Ernest Bloch – Schelomo (Hebraic Rhapsody for ‘Cello & Orchestra)

Modest Petrovich Mussorgsky – A Night on the Bare Mountain (arr. Rimsky-Korsakov)  

Jean Sibelius – Symphony No. 1 in E minor, Op. 39


James Lowe


Leonard Elschenbroich


16 July 2015 / 19:00 at City Halls, Glasgow

Tickets: Adult £14 | Concession £8 | Under 25 £2.50 

Box Office: 0141 353 8000 or visit www.glasgowconcerthalls.com

View all performances