NYOS Senior Orchestra

This April NYOS Senior Orchestra perform Rachmaninov’s Isle of the Dead, inspired by a black and white reproduction of Arnold Böcklin's infamous painting of the same name.

The Orchestra also explores the theme of musical nationalism from Sibelius’s triumphant tribute to his homeland, Finlandia, to In the Steppes of Central Asia, Borodin’s evocative portrait of the Caucasus region and the meeting of Russia and Asian cultures. Guiding the Orchestra through this wonderful programme is conductor Alice Farnham, one of Classic FM’s Ten Best Women Conductors 2019.


Jean Sibelius: Finlandia (Listen on Spotify)

Alexander Borodin: In the Steppes of Central Asia

Edvard Grieg: Peer Gynt Suite No.1

Sergei Rachmaninov: The Isle of the Dead, op.29

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky: Symphony No.5: i. Andante - Allegro con anima


Alice Farnham


12 April 2020 / 19:30 at City Halls, Glasgow

Please consider the environment when travelling to this concert

Personal and public transport options

Full Price: £15 | Concession: £10 | Under 26 for £6

Box Office: 0141 353 8000 or visit: glasgowconcerthalls.com

View all performances