NYOS Senior Orchestra

Now in its fourth season, NYOS Senior Orchestra is for musicians aged 13 and over. It has become the established second stage orchestra on the classical pathway for aspiring members of NYOS Symphony Orchestra and a critically acclaimed performing ensemble in its own right.

Conductor, James Lowe:

“This year we explore dance in orchestral form: Wagner’s Dance of the Apprentices seems pleasantly appropriate, while the passions of Bernstein’s modern-day Romeo and Juliet form the core of our summer work, alongside a new work from Oliver Searle, arranged specially for the Orchestra. We also pay tribute to Tchaikovsky, surely one of the finest of all ballet composers.”

This summer, NYOS Senior Orchestra have the honour of performing at the International Society for Music Education (ISME) World Conference 2016 at Glasgow’s Royal Concert Hall.


Pyotr Tchaikovsky: Swan Lake Suite

Oliver Searle: Accidental Dances

Richard Wagner: Die Meistersinger von Nürnberg Suite (1867)

Leonard Bernstein: Symphonic Dances from West Side Story 


James Lowe


27 July 2016 / 18:30 at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Tickets: £8 (100 tickets available for public sale)

Box Office: 0141 353 8000 or visit www.glasgowconcerthalls.com


View all performances