NYOS Development Orchestra Summer Concert

NYOS Development Orchestra performs Inocente Carreño – Margariteña, a work that inhabits a unique sound-world combining the rich orchestral textures and harmonies of the musical impressionist movement with the melodies and rhythms of his native Venezuelan folk music. The concert concludes with Tchaikovsky’s Symphony no. 5, a work brimming with emotional drama and unforgettable melodies.

The Development Orchestra prepares many young musicians for a successful future audition for NYOS Symphony Orchestra but will, most importantly, provide a fantastic opportunity to enjoy playing challenging orchestral repertoire with peers from across Scotland.


Inocente Carreño, Margariteña Glosa Sinfónica

Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky, Symphony, no.5, E minor, op.64

Concert Programme

Digital Version


Physical copies of the programme will also be available at the venue 


Natalia Luis-Bassa


28 July 2023 / 19:30 at Greyfriars Kirk, Edinburgh


Standard £18

Senior Citizens, wheelchair users £12

Under 26, Unwaged, Mature Student £6 

Tickets via the The Queens Hall Box Office


View all performances