NYOS Colin MacLean Bursary

Application Information

Meet the 2024 Bursary Recipient

NYOS are delighted to confirm the recipient of the Colin MacLean Bursary for 2024 is Callum Robb from Innerleithen. 

> Read the announcement

Applications for the final award closed in April and the selection panel met earlier this month to review the submitted applications. 

For the final year, the fund was increased with an award of £3,500 available to support the successful candidate's advanced musical study, or early career experience. 

Application Information

You can find important information about the application process by reading the guidance document below. If you are considering an application, is is imporatnt that you review eligibility criteria, and understand what is expected prior to completling the application form. 

> READ: Colin MacLean Bursary Application Guidance (PDF)

About The Colin MacLean Bursary Fund

The Colin MacLean Bursary Fund has been awarded annually after being set up by the NYOS Endowment Trust as a way to celebrate Colin MacLean’s immense contribution to youth music in Scotland over more than four decades.

In 2024, the bursary in it's current form came to an end. Including the funds awarded in this year's bursary, over £10,000 of vital financial support will have been issued since 2020. NYOS thank donors, supporters and the trust for their continued work in ensuring a lasting legacy. 

In the mid-seventies Colin MacLean played a vital role in establishing the National Youth Orchestra of Scotland. As part of the steering committee, he diplomatically gathered influential support to bring the idea to fruition. Today, it is thanks to continuing legacies and donations, that the Endowment Trust is able to help the young musicians of the future. 

Each year applicants are asked to submit an application form and two short recordings of themselves performing contrasting pieces of music, to demonstrate their musicianship and range. The application forms and short performances are then reviewed by our panel of judges, which this year comprises Conductor and Artistic Director of the Hebrides Ensemble, Will Conway and Chief Executive of NYOS, Kirsteen Davidson Kelly.

Meet Previous Recipients