NYOS Symphony Orchestra – Summer Tour

The National Youth Orchestras of Scotland (NYOS) are delighted to announce world-famous percussionist, Colin Currie as soloist this summer visiting Aberdeen, Perth and Glasgow. Colin will perform the Scottish premiere of the percussion concerto 'Switch', a new piece written especially for him by one of the most exciting young American composers around today, Andrew Norman, named Musical America Composer of the Year 2017.

"One of the greatest musicians in the world today" Steve Reich

Pre Concert Performance

As a special treat for our audiences in Glasgow and Perth, Colin Currie will perform Steve Reich's fantastically hypnotic Music for Pieces of Wood from 7.00pm in the Norrie Miller Suite at Perth Concert Hall and in the Exhibition Hall at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall.

These performances will be free and open to all, so please come along early to avoid disappointment.

Conductor: Michael Francis

Soloist: Colin Currie

British conductor Michael Francis is one of a young generation of conductors whose presence is being felt on both sides of the Atlantic. In Autumn 2015 Michael took up his post as Music Director of the Florida Orchestra in Tampa, FL. In Summer 2016 he presided over his second season as Music Director of the Mainly Mozart Festival, San Diego – only the second Music Director to follow in the footsteps of its’ founder, David Atherton.


GEORGE GERSHWIN: An American in Paris

ANDREW NORMAN: Switch (Scottish premiere)

AARON COPLAND: Symphony No.3

4 August 2017 / 19:30 at Perth Concert Hall

Box Office: 01738 621031 or visit www.horsecross.co.uk

Tickets: Full Price £16 | Concession £10 | Under 25 £2.50

5 August 2017 / 19:30 at Glasgow Royal Concert Hall

Box Office: 0141 353 8000 or visit www.glasgowconcerthalls.com

Tickets: Full Price £16 | Concession £10 | Under 25 £2.50

View all performances