NYOS Symphony Orchestra Spring Concert Series

This spring NYOS Symphony Orchestra will perform a wonderfully rich programme of dance-infused repertoire including Prokofiev’s Romeo and Juliet to commemorate 400 years since the death of Shakespeare.  So loved are both the story and Sergei Prokofiev’s score that virtually every ballet company in the world has a production of Romeo and Juliet in its repertory. 

2016 also marks a year of intriguing associations and connections between NYOS Symphony Orchestra and the BBC, starting with this spring concert series, where NYOS Symphony Orchestra will be conducted by Alpesh Chauhan. Alpesh appeared in the BBC film Ten Pieces Secondary conducting the BBC Philharmonic. NYOS Symphony Orchestra is also joined by BBC New Generation Artist Alec Frank-Gemmill (horn) to perform Charles Koechlin’s Poème for horn and orchestra.  

Conductor: Alpesh Chauhan

Soloist: Alec Frank-Gemmill


Maurice Ravel: Daphnis et Chloé Suite No. 2

Charles Koechlin: Poème for horn and orchestra, Op. 70 bis

Sergei Prokofiev: Romeo and Juliet the ballet (excerpts)

8 April 2016 / 19:30 at Perth Concert Hall

Tickets: Adult £16 | Concession £10 | Under 25 £2.50

Perth Concert Hall Box Office

9 April 2016 / 19:30 at City Halls, Glasgow

Tickets: Adult £16 | Concession £10 | Under 25 £2.50

Glasgow Concert Halls Box Office

View all performances